Just yesterday, our Communications Associate sent out a challenge to the entire company by coming up with a Biggest Loser sort of competition. Half of me wants to lose weight, but the other half keeps thinking about the first 20-something years of my life when I struggled with being stick thin and nearly shapeless (except for the definition of my muscles, which gave me a boyish shape).
At 118 pounds and having an ectomesomorph build, I am not overweight. I'm just not happy that love handles started appearing recently. I now have chub rubs, and I call myself "muffin top" when wearing jeans. Har har. So I rummaged through my old and recent photos and did a comparison.
Me at 100 pounds in 2008, with the measurements 32B-23-32:
Without working out, I have natural cuts on my abdomen and my biceps and triceps form easily. But as you can see...shaped like a boy.
I packed on the pounds 5 years later and with them, well, I felt like a woman. Haha. Except...I hated how my natural cuts seemed to have disappeared into oblivion. Plus my biceps and triceps were suddenly replaced with flab. I can't even pose for a photo without moving my arms away from my body because you might mistake my arms for someone else's thighs. Ugh.
Me at 118 pounds in 2012, with the measurements 36B-27-36:
So I am thinking, should I lose weight, or should I just tone? I'm still wondering what the best sort of exercise I could do without losing the womanly curves I've finally achieved. Leg raises and sit-ups bore me, and gyms make me think of hamsters.
Any fun suggestions for losing weight or toning?
In any case, I will try a new "diet" program that involves counting pesos instead of calories. (I do not want to use "weight-loss" because I normally gain weight whenever I tone up. Muscle mass is heavier than fat.) I will try it for a whole month and see where it takes me. Wish me luck!
At 118 pounds and having an ectomesomorph build, I am not overweight. I'm just not happy that love handles started appearing recently. I now have chub rubs, and I call myself "muffin top" when wearing jeans. Har har. So I rummaged through my old and recent photos and did a comparison.
Me at 100 pounds in 2008, with the measurements 32B-23-32:
Without working out, I have natural cuts on my abdomen and my biceps and triceps form easily. But as you can see...shaped like a boy.
I packed on the pounds 5 years later and with them, well, I felt like a woman. Haha. Except...I hated how my natural cuts seemed to have disappeared into oblivion. Plus my biceps and triceps were suddenly replaced with flab. I can't even pose for a photo without moving my arms away from my body because you might mistake my arms for someone else's thighs. Ugh.
Me at 118 pounds in 2012, with the measurements 36B-27-36:
So I am thinking, should I lose weight, or should I just tone? I'm still wondering what the best sort of exercise I could do without losing the womanly curves I've finally achieved. Leg raises and sit-ups bore me, and gyms make me think of hamsters.
Any fun suggestions for losing weight or toning?
In any case, I will try a new "diet" program that involves counting pesos instead of calories. (I do not want to use "weight-loss" because I normally gain weight whenever I tone up. Muscle mass is heavier than fat.) I will try it for a whole month and see where it takes me. Wish me luck!
Like this post? Subscribe to this blog NOW .
Or like Skysenshi's Hermitage Facebook Page for updates, contests and discussions.








Haha I really need to start a yoga practice at my house because sometimes life and work just get in the way that I can't attend yoga classes. Plus, when I got back the results of my annual physical exam I was diagnosed as type 1 obese (of course I have my doubts about the relationship of BMI and weight and overall health), so that really shocked me to start doing something about it.
ReplyDeleteI actually miss yoga. I tried Barre3 because of the schedule but I find it too difficult haha. Kelangan lang talaga ng tamang schedule and maybe the right exercise siguro.
ReplyDeleteI'm very curious about Barre3 kaya lang ang layo. I used to dance ballet; I guess I miss the movement of dance, so I was drawn to vinyasa flow yoga :)
ReplyDeleteI've been finding some yoga videos in YouTube. I've been downloading some of them and I hope I get to try them out soon. Hopefully my also having bought a new yoga mat to finally replace my now flaky, now slippery three-year-old one from Toby's will motivate me to practice more by myself if there's no class.
Hope you can attend another class with me soon! :)
Whoa! Super active ka pala talaga!
ReplyDeleteAs for yoga...Yeah! Problem ko kasi yung Saturdays talaga. Hirap mag schedule ng kahit ano. :(
Haha sometimes I have to force myself. Otherwise I'll get sick or just stop altogether. Considering the nature of my job, I really have to stick to it.
ReplyDeleteYun nga eh. It's so hard when we have day jobs. I'm only waiting for my paper to be completely polished so that I could free up my weekends for yoga/exercise. Kaya malaki talagang pagkakamali for me mag-aral at mag-hold ng production position at the same time. Dapat ginawa ko na lang yung ginawa mo na mag-stop mag-work while doing your thesis.
ReplyDelete