Jackie Chan, in defense against the allegations of cultural ignorance (and racism), recounted that the entire crew referred to it as Kung Fu Kid during the filming and that it will be called that in Asia (but we're Asians, too, boohooohooo!). I will accept that since it comes from the mouth of one of my favorite action stars. I only have three, by the way: Jackie Chan, Jet Li
All that being said...I loved Karate Kid 2010. The pacing actually took a while, somewhat reminding me of many art films I've seen but at the same time had me worrying how this would be received by the mainstream folks. It had mixed reviews and I particularly did not care for the ones that would keep comparing this with the original. Producer Will Smith, father of Jaden, did admit that he borrowed elements from the 1984 version but watching these iconic scenes take place in the 2010 version, I am very happy to say that these stood out on their own. Karate Kid 2010 is a homage that respected not only the originality of the first movie, but also stood its own ground.
Mr. Han training Dre Parker in the mountains
You just have to enjoy the different facets of China. During the first parts, China is shown to be a dinghy and confusing place, reflecting the anxiety that Dre experiences during his move from Detroit. Later, as he goes under training, you'd be amazed at how rich and beautiful the countryside of China is, reflecting Dre's growth as an individual and as a martial artist. Wow. That is all I could say. I would watch this again just to see all that.
Other highlights of the film:
- The depth of Mr. Han's character, something that the original did not have
- Lots and lots of side-splitting moments, especially during the monumental tournament
- Lots and lots of action
The only three things that disturbed me (besides the title):
- This is not for young kids. Told my mom that it was too violent for my 9-year-old brother. I could swear I felt all the kicks that Dre Parker received. Ouch. There were also lots of kids-do-not-try-this-at-home scenes so...
- They could let go of the love angle, while maintaining the lessons on friendship. Though I found some of the romantic scenes funny, I still get iffy over seeing 12-year-olds express goofy-love-love feelings.
- We sat beside degenerates, who would place their BARE feet on top of the seats in front of them. I did not appreciate the uneducated side comments, either.
Like this post? Subscribe to this blog NOW .
Or like Skysenshi's Hermitage Facebook Page for updates, contests and discussions.








I loved the training in the Great Wall.
ReplyDeleteunpredictable ending
ReplyDeleteI sat there in the dim-litted room
Why would I stand?
With sweet confection in hand
I started
8:45 on the clock
It commenced
Unexpectedly ending up to be an audience
of this excuse of an andrenaline-pumping entertainment
I sat there, yes, not standing
through the whole one hour 45 minutes
I didn't recall what it was called
the only thing I remember was the ending
For I did not expect it to pop an idea
Now a reason for its worth, I thought
It moved me to make something of it
but better
With kicks, slaps, and punches
The word would be, "inspired"
The unexpected ending up of me in that box they call number 6 and
the ending unexpectedly triggering unexpected ideas
Simply put,
the point is
Expect the unexpected but expect nothing,
at least, according to the fictional Albert Wesker
Regina Supapo
ABMA85
http://i9.photobucket.com/albums/a71/urumi_k/entry2.jpg
ReplyDeleteps. the visual version (artwork)
Regina Supapo
ABMA85
http://kishir24.multiply.com/journal/item/1/Good_ol_Childhood
ReplyDeleteMy entry po
it's my first time to write a blog :)
Jolu Briones
ABMA91
http://kishir24.multiply.com/journal/item/1/Good_ol_Childhood
ReplyDeleteMy entry po
it's my first time to write a blog :)
Jolu Briones
ABMA91