I loved every second of it! Will Ferrell as the misunderstood villain and Brad Pitt as the narcissistic super hero are nothing short of brilliant. I was not prepared to find myself relating to Megamind's childhood experiences. As a kid, I had to go through numerous bullies and I always fought back...so basically, the bullies would either end up with bloodied noses or totally without their front teeth. Aaaaaand I would end up in the principal's office, not given a chance to explain my side because hey, I was not the one with the bloodied nose or missing teeth. (Take note, they were mostly boys. I kind of find it hilarious now, imagining how a little girl was berated by the principal for beating up a bunch of rowdy boys.) Of course, that's not exactly what happened to Megamind, but I know what it's like to feel left out or to be on the other of the fence.
I guess this is also the same reason why I sympathize with Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall
Anyway, besides Pitt and Ferrell, Tina Fey as frequently kidnapped reporter Roxanne Ritchie, is just as witty and awe-inspiring. I absolutely loved the characters' interaction, the dialogues, plus the animators' attention to detail (well, there were a few things here and there -- like glitchy walk cycles -- but they're negligible to non-animators and would likely be improved in the DVD release).
Catch this on the big screen if you still can. Highly recommended!
Like this post? Subscribe to this blog NOW .
Or like Skysenshi's Hermitage Facebook Page for updates, contests and discussions.







Hi! did you watch at Imax moa or sm north? cos we're planning to watch as well, thanks for the review!=)
ReplyDeleteHi, Krizia!
ReplyDeleteG4 actually, at a regular cinema. I'm not a huge fan of stereoscopic 3D kasi eh. :D
We were at G4 today miss! like just after our webdev class hehehe ^________^ Will watch that movie this saturday! <3
ReplyDeleteSana pinanood mo na right after. :D
ReplyDeleteSounds interesting, I've been meaning to watch this.
ReplyDeleteI shall watch this with my girl sa saturday :D
Have fun! :D
ReplyDeleteBully ka pala! LOL.
ReplyDeleteI'm really looking forward to this! I agree that Will Ferrell and Brad Pitt were perfectly cast. But I might skip the 3D; I never got the hang of using 3D glasses above my own! Haha. :)
Ako yung binubully, pero di ako nagpapabully...napapahamak tuloy ako. LOL!
ReplyDeleteYup! Skip the 3D. I told my classmate that these aren't friendly to our old eyes, plus you might not appreciate the details because you'd be seeing double-vision.
I haven't watched the movie but I might just buy the DVD once it's out. I have never opted for 3D versions of any movie because I can't get use to 3D - I'm also still not comfortable with HD.
ReplyDelete@Passionate Blogger
ReplyDeleteTrue! I always opt for the non-3D. I hate wearing the glasses because I feel so distracted by them. I really don't like it when cinemas don't make non-3D versions available. First of all, 3D is more expensive and second, it's like you're paying for the hype more than the enjoyment...
Have fun! :D
ReplyDeleteHi, Krizia!
ReplyDeleteG4 actually, at a regular cinema. I'm not a huge fan of stereoscopic 3D kasi eh. :D