Punch-Out!!!'s Little Mac will remind you of Pacman.
Image Source: Wikipedia
Image Source: Wikipedia
After Tyson's time, boxing got boring. I stopped tuning into that area of sports. In fact, even though our own Manny Pacquiao quickly rose through the ranks of boxing history, I was largely apathetic. In my head, he was going to end up like Flash Elorde, who, despite his record of 88 wins (KO: 33), 27 losses and 2 draws, died of lung cancer because of his uncontrollable addiction to nicotine. I figured Pacman would carve a record for himself and then disappear at a young age.
It wasn't until Pacman brought down Ricky Hatton in two rounds did I begin to pay attention. This mild interest escalated when I heard Floyd Mayweather Jr. mouthing off some really insulting nonsense. I mean, it's not everyday that you hear some huge mofo bark up two hundred words a minute and not show anything for it.
Despite rooting for Pacman, I always find myself thinking that he's going to fall in the next fight. I thought he was going to lose to Hatton, who gave Kentucky Floyd Chicken a hard time, then to Cotto, whom KFC dodged through early retirement. Well, I knew he was going to win against Clottey, but not against Margarito, whom KFC also dodged. Each and every time I predicted that Pacman was going to lose, I always get proven wrong.
In this case, being wrong has never felt so good! Pacman has proven himself to be quite a tough Little Mac, equipped with a strong chin and versatile moves. If you bet he'd use the same fighting style that he used in the last battle, you'll end up losing your money.
Video Source: Dan Wetzel Mayweather should keep dodging Pacquiao
I do hope he retires after this, though. He has already carved a huge chunk for himself in the realm of international boxing. And no, I don't think he needs KFC Mayweather. Mayweather should go through Cotto and Margarito first if he wants dibs on the Pacman.
(Although I feel so sorry for Margarito that he had to undergo surgery after the match. I feel sorry for Cotto because he was so handsome before the fight...)
EDIT:
I was just going through my Google Reader and one of my friends, Lia, who runs Geek Girl Manila, posted this video of Pacquiao doing a Little Mac. zOMG!!! Brilliant find, Lia!
Like this post? Subscribe to this blog NOW .
Or like Skysenshi's Hermitage Facebook Page for updates, contests and discussions.







Wahahaha! Fantastic post! I love the PacMan vid! :)
ReplyDeleteYeah! I was surprised to see it in Lia's blog post just after I wrote mine. Haha! I didn't know a video like that existed. Looks like a lot of geeks can see the correlation. Hahahaha!
ReplyDeleteVideo games and boxing are not my forte, so I can't comment much. But you guys are the next generation - I could learn a lot from you.
ReplyDeleteHehe, this is an old school video game that was released back in the 80s. It was a time when video games required not only hand-eye coordination, but also a lot of strategy. Now video games are nothing but visuals. *Sigh* The good ol' days...
ReplyDelete